Our faculty are leaders in their fields. We are proud to have them as part of our academic family!

Hokulani Aikau

Associate Professor

h.aikau@utah.edu801-581-5206Faculty Profile

Maile Arvin

Assistant Professor

maile.arvin@utah.edu801-581-8094Faculty Profile

Matt Basso

Associate Professor

Matt Basso is jointly appointed in History and Gender Studies at the University of Utah. His research interests include the theory and history of masculinity, labor and working class history, the history of old age, the history of race and ethnicity, the relationship of the military to society, U.S. Western history, the history of Pacific settler societies, and transnational history. He also offers courses that grapple with all of these subjects. His scholarship appears in both traditional venues, like books and articles, and in community-focused projects, like the construction of digital archives, the development of oral history projects, and the production of K-12 curriculum materials.

matt.basso@utah.edu801-587-9575Faculty Profile

Lisa Diamond

Professor

lisa.diamond@psych.utah.edu801-585-7491Faculty Profile

Sarita Gaytan

Assistant Professor

marie.gaytan@soc.utah.edu801-581-8029Faculty Profile

Claudia Geist

Assistant Professor

Claudia Geist is Assistant Professor of Sociology at the University of Utah. She studies comparative social stratification, family, and gender. Her recent work has examined the gendered link between family status and internal migration, racial differences in young adults’ dating rituals, definitions of family, and housework in comparative perspective. Her work has been published or is forthcoming at Demography, Gender & Society, Journal of Family Issues, and the European Sociological Review. Together with Brian Powell, Catherine Bolzendahl, and Lala Carr Steelman), she recently published COUNTED OUT: Same-Sex Relations and Americans’ Definitions of Family (Russell Sage Foundation/ASA Rose Series), which explores Americans’ attitudes towards what does and does not “count” as family.

claudia.geist@soc.utah.edu801-581-8029Faculty Profile

Kim Hackford-Peer

Associate Professor Lecturer

kim.hackford-peer@utah.edu801-585-3283Faculty Profile

Ella Myers

Associate Professor

ella.myers@utah.edu801-585-5663Faculty Profile

Wanda Pillow

Professor

Wanda S. Pillow is an Associate Professor jointly appointed in Gender Studies and the Department of Education, Culture and Society at the University of Utah where she offers courses in qualitative research methods; gender, race and sexuality studies; race, feminism and poststructural and theories; and educational policy. Her work focuses on intersectional analyses of the relationship between subjectivity and representation (historically, legally, discursively and textually) and on tracing what this means and looks like methodologically and theoretically across cultural productions, policy, and embodied praxis. Resulting projects include tracing colonial relations of gender, race and sexuality through Sacajawea and York of the 1804-1806 Corps of Discovery expedition; methodological essays; and on-going participation in research and efforts for the educational rights of young mothers. Professor Pillow is committed to mentoring students and emerging scholars and participates in several national professional organizations.

wanda.pillow@utah.edu801-587-7819Faculty Profile

Susie Porter

Associate Professor

s.porter@utah.edu801-585-5693Faculty Profile

Cathleen Power

Assistant Professor Lecturer

c.power@utah.edu801-587-8095Faculty Profile

Sarah Projansky

Professor

Sarah Projansky is Senior Associate Dean for Faculty & Academic Affairs in the College of Fine Arts. She holds a joint-appointment as Professor of Film & Media Arts and of Gender Studies, and is an Adjunct Professor of Communication.

Sarah’s courses include Film Theory, Introduction to TV, Gender and Contemporary Issues, Girl Films, Film and Television Stars, and Feminist Girls’ Media Studies. She has been a member of numerous dissertation committees and MFA committees, and she has directed many undergraduate honors theses.

sarah.projansky@utah.edu801-581-5127Faculty Profile

Angela Smith

Associate Professor

ang.smith@utah.edu801-581-7992Faculty Profile